ASE Home Page Products Download Purchase Support About ASE
ChartDirector Support
Forum HomeForum Home   SearchSearch

Message ListMessage List     Post MessagePost Message

High CPU Usage
Posted by zdw on Jun-16-2020 14:41
Attachments:
in the wxWidgets FrameWork,We used the wxChartDir library to experience high CPU usage.I don't know how to solve it at present. Ask for help!!!
7d7e8197b703e1fa0bbe5fe9ea375e6.png

Re: High CPU Usage
Posted by Peter Kwan on Jun-17-2020 02:00
Hi zdw,

Note that wxChartDir is not from us. It is from one of our customers who ported the C++ MFC/Qt sample code to wxWidgets. We ourselves are not familiar with wxWidgets and I have never used it before.

From your screenshot, the MemBlock m = c->makeChart(Chart::BMP); line is the last line that executes ChartDirector code. It draws the chart as an image in memory. The next 4 lines seems to be for displaying the image in wxWidgets.

For the code, I would expect the "MemBlock m = c->makeChart(Chart::BMP);" will take the longest CPU time, because it needs to compute hundreds of thousands or even millions of pixels. The wxWidget code seems to be only copying the pixels and should not take long.

If you think the wxImage and wxBitmap takes unusually long time, you may do a test yourself to double check how much time they take. The performance value in your development tool can be inaccurate. It is better to test it youself. For example, you can create a loop to draw the chart 100 times to see how long it takes. Then you can comment out the wxBitmap and the next two lines and see how long it takes to run 100 times. If the wxBitmap and wxImage really takes a long time, removing them should improve the speed by 10 times or more. This can verify if the performance value is correct.

Note that for performance testing, you should run the code in "Release" mode (not Debug mode), and you should not run it inside the debugger. The debugger or Debug mode code can significant change the performance.

Regards