ASE Home Page Products Download Purchase Support About ASE
ChartDirector Support
Forum HomeForum Home   SearchSearch

Message ListMessage List     Post MessagePost Message

Zoom on polar chart
Posted by Miguel on Nov-05-2020 18:56
Hi!

I'm trying to do something similar to this: https://www.chartdir.com/forum/download_thread.php?bn=chartdir_support&pattern=polar&thread=1581935682 but on a windrose chart.

I added
c.radialAxis().setLinearScale(-(max/10), max, max/5);
but I want to start the labelling on 0, or even better at the first mark.

I also tried to change the background color of the axis mark labels but I coudn't. Any help on this too? (I'm quite new to c# and starting to try the chartdirector's library).

And last but not least, is it possible to add zooming and panning to a polarchart? It would be helpful as some zones on the windrose are small and usually on the center part, making it difficult to determine its size.

Thank you Peter!

Re: Zoom on polar chart
Posted by Peter Kwan on Nov-05-2020 23:57
Hi Miguel,

Although I am not sure the exact chart you want, I am quite sure ChartDirector can achieve what you need because ChartDirector has very flexible labelling support.

If your intention is to put the r = 0 away from the center for layout reasons, you can use Axis.setMargin to a margin in pixel units. For example:

c.radialAxis().setMargin(0, 20);

The above means the lower limit of the axis scale is 20 pixels away from the center. If the lower limit is 0, then it means r = 0 is a circle 20 pixels away from the center. You can let ChartDirector auto-scale the axis, or configure the axis scale yourself using setLinearScale. ChartDirector has APIs to allow you to set constraints on how the axis is auto-scaled. There are also APIs to add axis labels at any location of your choice. If you have these requirements, please let me know.

To set the background color of the radial axis labels, you can use: